Shifting Into the Next Phase

A few days ago I finalized the steps to sign up for our Pre-Cana Marriage Prep class that we are going to take on November 8th. So the countdown is in full force- just 2 and a half weeks until I get to see my man!! I feel that time is speeding up, weeks are whizzing past, this whole year has seemed to have gone by like a dream in the night… Thanksgiving will mark one year officially since my move. Memories of that awful day I had to say goodbye and pull out of the driveway in a U-haul with my brother- I haven’t visited them in 11 months. I haven’t wanted to.

But now, in the light of all that has transpired in the course of our LDR, considering all that we’ve learned, endured, and grown, I can say I am grateful for that day. That choice. That leap of faith. I recall the pain and it is like a happy child that fell down, scraped his knee, cried it out, and eventually moved on. I know we are free of the past. Sure, every day is a mental obstacle course and a spiritual battleground, every day we have to move ever onward. But there is change in the air, I can taste it. Very soon, we will be shifting into the next level of change again, and face a whole set of new trials that go along with this phase. These trials, however, are not between us like a chasm of unknown, causing us to doubt our ability to cross them and find each other again, but rather they are a familiar hall of doors, and we are walking hand-in-hand through each one.

About Rebekah

Resting in the love of God, baking bread for the people, drawing one another together in contemplative living.
This entry was posted in faith, ldr, long distance relationship, love, marriage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment