God’s love makes all things new

I woke up this morning thinking I had had a nightmare. 

Last night you say it is too hard for you to do the Long Distance thing. It’s not what you wanted in the first place. I forced it on you. 

I don’t know where we’re at anymore.

I love you I love you I love you. My heart hurts, but it’s yours.

All I can do is pray for God’s will to be done, and that our hearts will open up to the gifts of the Spirit.

The suffering- it’s a call to be closer to God.

I don’t know what the future holds, and I’m strangely ok with that, because I know that it’s in His hands anyway. He is so good.

Two verses from Romans struck me this morning: 

5:3-5 “Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”

12: 2 “Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”

We’ve placed our relationship in the fire. It will test it, prove it, purify it, and make it new. That is the hope I rest on.

 

About Rebekah

I recently moved back to San Diego (where I grew up) from San Francisco (where I lived for the last 7 years) and am now in a committed Long Distance Relationship with my wonderful boyfriend of 2 1/2 years. I love the Lord! Some of my interests include painting, drawing, sculpting, fiber arts, writing, sewing, vintage style/antique hunting/thrifting, learning my acoustic guitar, Disneyland, animals, nature, running, baking and music. https://www.facebook.com/rivkah86 http://instagram.com/rivkah86
This entry was posted in faith, ldr, long distance relationship, love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to God’s love makes all things new

  1. ldr13 says:

    I’m so sorry that you are in that most confusing and painful of places; a sort of relationship limbo when you aren’t sure what will happen. I’ve never been a very religious person but I do pray sometimes. A few years ago I would have told you that life was not worth living without the boy that I loved; he was everything to me. But after he broke my heart once again I began praying for God to keep my future husband safe, whoever and wherever he was and to bring him to me as soon as we were ready. And a year or two later he did. I honestly do feel that my prayers were answered and it makes sense to me now why it didn’t work out with the person who I so adamantly loved. There was another plan for me; a better plan, and now I’m grateful that things happened the way that they did.

    Just remember that no matter how bad things feel that God has a plan for you and that there is someone out there for you. Sometimes he knows what we need better than we do ourselves.

    Take care :)

  2. Rebekah says:

    Thank you! These days I am allowing myself to think about it like that… and it’s refreshing! It’s not easy, being in an LDR, that’s for sure. After we talked that night, we were practically calling it off completely, but the next day, he had the chance to speak to our pastor, a few other men from our church, and a few of his friends, and he received a lot of perspective. Something clicked for him, and he’s done a complete 180 (at least, for now. Time will tell if it’s a consistent change for him) but it definitely gives me hope :)

  3. sam1886 says:

    first of all, thanks for liking my post. I have had quite a few occassions where i was not sure about my long distance either. I just prayed hard and found the strength and hope to carry on. Hope you have a great future. :)

Leave a Reply

